9NEWS wins two national Edward R. Murrow awards

12:39 PM, Jun 12, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

No one in Colorado is likely to forget the tragic events of July 20, 2012, when a lone gunman dressed in tactical assault gear walked into an Aurora theater and allegedly killed a dozen movie goers while wounding or injuring 58 others. The 9NEWS 10:00 p.m. newscast of that day was recognized by the RTDNA in the category of Best Newscast.

Vice President and News Director Patti Dennis said, "Everything we do and have trained for as responsible journalists came into play that day. Having lived and worked through a previous mass shooting incident, we understood better than most the immense responsibility we had to our community to accurately report only as much as we knew, not what others on broadcast or social media were speculating about. This day was truly one of selfless public service as every staff member from news and promotion to sales and production worked endless hours to calmly and compassionately tell this story from every angle. It was as much a team effort as anything, as a journalist, in which I have been involved. I am extremely proud of the work we did that day here at 9NEWS."

The award for Best News Series went to the reporter team of Anastasiya Bolton and photojournalist Andy Buck called From Hell and Back: The Lydia Tillman Story. Tillman was brutally beaten and stabbed before being left for dead in her burning apartment by her assailant. Bolton and Buck sensitively told a series of stories chronicling her long road of recovery from her severe injuries. The series featured Bolton's deft writing touch, intricately weaving her words among Buck's natural sound moments and moving video.

The RTDNA honors are among five Murrow awards in 13 categories bestowed upon Gannett broadcast stations. WTSP in Tampa won one award while KARE in Minneapolis also won two.

The RTDNA will recognize winners at the Edward R. Murrow awards ceremony, October 14, 2013, in New York.

The RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

(KUSA-TV © 2013 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos