Associated Press honors 9NEWS

5:41 PM, Jun 15, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Golden - The Colorado Associated Press Broadcasters Association presented 9NEWS with 11 first place awards, including "Outstanding News Operation" at the Golden Hotel Saturday afternoon.

The CAPBA honors radio and television work throughout Colorado in 15 categories, with 9NEWS winning 11 of those awards in the Denver market division, as well as another five second place awards.

So far this year, 9NEWS evening newscasts have been honored with first place awards from the Colorado Broadcasters Association, the Radio & Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) regional Edward R. Murrow awards and now the Associated Press.

The 9NEWS at 10 broadcast the night of the Aurora theater shooting went on to win a national Edward R. Murrow Award.

Today's 9NEWS winners include:

FIRST PLACE: Outstanding News Operation
FIRST PLACE: Spot News (Aurora Theater Shooting)
FIRST PLACE: Best Station Photjournalism
FIRST PLACE: Morning Newscast (Jack Maher, Ariel Mata, Adam McPherson)
FIRST PLACE: Evening Newscast (Will Swope, Jerry Vancini, Mark Yoder, Mark Koebrich, Adele Arakawa)
FIRST PLACE: Weathercast (Kathy Sabine)
FIRST PLACE: Best Reporter (Cheryl Preheim)
FIRST PLACE: Best Producer (Will Swope)
FIRST PLACE: Sports Special "Missy Franklin: Reaching for Gold" (Cheryl Preheim, John Kuhrt)
FIRST PLACE: Feature "Nick & Jamie" (Chris Vanderveen, Chris Hansen)
FIRST PLACE: General Reporting "A Night in the ER" (Chris Vanderveen, Chris Hansen)

SECOND PLACE: Documentary "Eight Square Miles" (David Delozier, Chris Vanderveen, John Kuhrt, Byron Reed)
SECOND PLACE: Feature "Small Soulmates" (TaRhonda Thomas, Chris Hansen)
SECOND PLACE: General Reporting "Prison Attack Survivor Exclusive" (Cheryl Preheim, Michael Driver)
SECOND PLACE Best Reporter (Chris Vanderveen)

(KUSA-TV © 2013 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos