LIVE VIDEO: 9NEWS Evening Newscast    Watch

DU Pioneers basketball to flee WAC after 1 year and join Summit League

4:46 PM, Nov 26, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

A press conference is scheduled for Tuesday, when the Pioneers will officially announce they will join the nine-school league based in Elmhurst, Ill., that features North Dakota State, South Dakota State, South Dakota, Fort Wayne (Ind.), Western Illinois, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), Oakland (Rochester, Mich.) and Nebraska-Omaha.

The Pioneers left the Sun Belt Conference after last season to join the WAC, which has tried to absorb the departures of most of its flagship schools by taking on DU and Seattle University, among others, but still remains troubled.

DU's hockey, gymnastics (independent) and men's and women's lacrosse teams will not have direct affiliation with the Summit League, which does not offer those sports. On June 1, 2007, the Summit League changed its name from the Mid-Continent Conference.

Read more of Mike Chambers' story in the Denver Post.

(Copyright 2012 The Denver Post)

Most Watched Videos