LIVE VIDEO: 9NEWS at 5:00    Watch
 

Free advice for college financial aid on Sunday

2:40 PM, Feb 20, 2010   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Colorado's 4th College Goal Sunday event will be held Saturday and Sunday at 15 sites around Colorado.

Fifteen thousand dollars in scholarships will be given away during College Goal weekend. Students can win $1,000 at one of 15 sites around Colorado from CollegeInvest.

This event is an opportunity for students and parents to get free help in filling out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid or FAFSA.

Advisors urge students to apply early, as much of the financial aid is awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.

The FAFSA is the first step and a Federal requirement for all college students who plan to pay for college with the help of grants, scholarships, work study funds and student loans.

• Spanish translators will be available at all College Goal Sunday sites.

Parents and students should bring the following records to College Goal Sunday:

- Student's Social Security number and parents' Social Security numbers (if available)

- Student's driver's license number if you have one

- Alien Registration Number if you are not a U.S. citizen

- Federal tax information or tax returns, including W-2   
  information, for yourself, for your spouse if you are married,   
  and for your parents if you are providing parent information,
  using income records for the year prior to the academic year
  for which you are applying 

  If you have not completed your 2009 tax return you can still 
  apply for financial aid, choose "will file" on the application and
  estimate your income to avoid missing deadlines.

Site Information - Please note that Greeley and Durango will hold their events on Saturday, February 20th all others are on Sunday, February 21st.

Location Date/Time Site Contact

Alamosa
Adams State College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Phil Schroeder, pschroeder@adams.edu

Aurora

Community College of Aurora Sunday, Feb. 21 Noon - 4 p.m. Leigh Bessey, leigh.bessey@ccaurora.edu

Colorado Springs

Pikes Peak Comm College

Univ of Colo - Colo Springs
Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Kim Sanders,
ksander3@uccs.edu

Craig
Colo Northwestern Community College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Tresa England, tresa.england@cncc.edu

Commerce City

Adams City High School Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Natalie High, Natalie.high@colorado.edu

Denver/Auraria Camus

North Classroom Building Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Peg Mason,
pmason@mines.edu

Durango

Fort Lewis College Saturday, Feb. 20 2 - 4 p.m. Elaine Redwine, redwine_e@fortlewis.edu

Fort Collins

Front Range Comm College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. LeeAnne Schnader, Leanne.schnader@colostate.edu

Grand Junction

Mesa State College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Marianne Mercado, mmercado@mesastate.edu

Greeley
Aims Community College Saturday, Feb. 20 2 - 4 p.m. Teri Dorchuck, teri.dorchuck@aims.edu

Gunnison

Western State College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Eric Cronkright, ecronkright@western.edu

La Junta

Otero Junior College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Jeff Paolucci, jeff.paolucci@ojc.edu

Longmont
Front Range Comm College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Jamie Bertrand, jaime.bertrand@frontrange.edu

Pueblo

Pueblo Community College Sunday, Feb. 21 1 - 4 p.m. Rosina Chapparo, rosina.chaparro@pueblocc.edu

Sterling

Northeastern Junior College Sunday, Feb. 21 2 - 4 p.m. Andria Monheiser, Andria.monheiser@njc.edu

(KUSA-TV © 2010 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos