LIVE VIDEO: 9NEWS at 4:00    Watch
 

NFL's top official: Welker's hit on Talib legal

11:36 PM, Jan 22, 2014   |    comments
DENVER, CO - JANUARY 19: Wes Welker #83 of the Denver Broncos falls on the ground after colliding with Aqib Talib #31 of the New England Patriots during the AFC Championship game at Sports Authority Field at Mile High on January 19, 2014 in Denver, Colorado. (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) - The NFL's officiating chief has cleared Broncos receiver Wes Welker of any wrongdoing for his hit that knocked Patriots cornerback Aqib Talib out of Sunday's AFC Championship.

"It was a legal hit," Vice President of Officiating Dean Blandino said on the NFL Network Wednesday night.

On Monday, New England coach Bill Belichick blasted Welker for the hit, calling it "one of the worst plays" he'd seen in nearly four decades of coaching.

There will be no discipline for Welker; Blandino said there was simply no infraction of the rules.

Talib left the game with a knee injury and didn't return in Denver's 26-16 win that sent the top-seeded Broncos to the Super Bowl.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Most Watched Videos