Mountains dedicated to the Denver Broncos

12:16 PM, Jan 29, 2014   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

KUSA - What better way to celebrate and honor the Denver Broncos going to Super Bowl XLVIII than naming a mountain after them?

UNITED IN ORANGE: Super Bowl XLVIII Special Coverage from 9NEWS - Home of the Broncos

Governor John Hickenlooper announced Wednesday Colorado's famous mountain peaks - also known as 14ers - will be named after players on the Denver Broncos football team for Super Bowl Sunday.

Quarterback Peyton Manning is named after the tallest 14er in Colorado- Mount Elbert, admired as the "godfather" of the team and for his statuesque presence. Kicker Matt Prater set a NFL record of 64 years long and is honored with the name Longs Peak. Humanitarian Winston Justice is cleverly named Mr. Lincoln for his sense of justice and keeping the peace and defensive tackle Mitch Unrein, known for his impressive blocks, is sensibly named after Blanca Peak.

Join 9NEWS in saluting Governor Hickenlooper for officially declaring Sunday, Feb. 2, Denver Broncos-Mania Day. Check out the full list of Broncos players and the mountains they will be named after below:

  1. Peyton Manning- Mt. Elbert
  2. Terrance Knighton- Mt. Massive
  3. Zane Beadles- Mr. Harvard
  4. Mitch Unrein- Blanca Peak
  5. Jacob Tamme- La Plata Peak
  6. Steven Johnson- Uncompahgre Peak
  7. Steve Vallos- Crestone Peak
  8. Winston Justice- Mt. Lincoln
  9. Eric Decker- Grays Peak
  10. Malik Jackson- Mt. Antero
  11. Demaryius Thomas- Torreys Peak
  12. Duke Ihenacho- Castle Peak
  13. Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie- Quandary Peak
  14. Nate Irving- Mt. Evans
  15. Matt Prater- Longs Peak
  16. Shaun Phillips- Mt. Wilson
  17. Marquice Cole- Mt. Shavano
  18. Andre Caldwell- Mt. Belford
  19. Brock Osweiler- Crestone Needle
  20. Manny Ramirez- Mt. Princeton
  21. Louis Vasquez- Mt. Yale
  22. Jeremy Mincey- Mt. Bross
  23. Aaron Brewer- Kit Carson Peak
  24. Mike Adams- Maroon Peak
  25. Chris Kuper- Tabeguache Peak
  26. Chris Clark- Mt. Oxford
  27. Zac Dysert- Mt. Sneffels
  28. Tony Carter- Mt. Democrat
  29. Champ Bailey- Capitol Peak
  30. Joel Dressen- Pikes Peak
  31. Wesley Woodyard- Snowmass Mountain
  32. Sione Fua- Mt. Eolus
  33. Ronnie Hillman- Windom Peak
  34. Montee Ball- Challenger Point
  35. Orlando Franklin- Mt. Columbia
  36. Sylvester Williams- Missouri Mountain
  37. Knowshon Moreno- Humboldt Peak
  38. Robert Ayers- Mt. Bierstadt
  39. Omar Bolden- Sunlight Peak
  40. Quentin Jammer- Handies Peak
  41. Michael Huff- Culebra Peak
  42. Britton Colquitt- Ellingwood Point
  43. Paris Lenon- Mt. Lindsey
  44. Trindon Holliday- Little Bear Peak
  45. Wes Welker- Mt. Sherman
  46. Virgil Green- Redcloud Peak
  47. Danny Trevathan- Pyramid Peak
  48. Brandon Marshall- Wilson Peak
  49. Vinston Painter- Wetterhorn Peak
  50. Kayvon Webster- San Luis Peak
  51. David Bruton- Mt. of the Holy Cross
  52. C.J. Anderson- Huron Peak
  53. Julius Thomas- Sunshine Peak

(KUSA-TV © 2014 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos