LIVE VIDEO: 9NEWS Saturday 5:00 News    Watch
 

You can work and get unemployment benefits

2:43 PM, Feb 11, 2010   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Several viewers have asked 9NEWS if they are allowed to have a part time job at the same time they receive Unemployment Benefits.

According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, you can work up to 32 hours a week.
Working more than 32 hours a week is considered full time work.

The following information was provided by the department:

You may earn, in gross wages, up to 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount in any given week without affecting UI benefits for that week.

Earnings over 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount are subtracted dollar-for-dollar from that week's UI benefits.

Any employment (full-time, part-time, temporary assignments, short-term contracts, or cash-in-hand jobs, such as mowing lawns and babysitting) must be reported when you request payment through CUBLine Online or CUBLine.

UI benefits cannot be paid for a week during which you work 32 or more hours or for a week in which your earnings are equal to or more than your weekly benefit amount.

UI benefits that cannot be paid based on hours or earnings remain available for you to claim during the benefit year.

If you work part-time while continuing to request UI benefits based on full-time earnings, you must continue to seek full-time work and meet all the other eligibility requirements in order to receive partial payment for the week.

You may earn, in gross wages, up to 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount in any given week without affecting UI benefits for that week. Earnings over 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount are subtracted dollar-for-dollar from that week's UI benefits.

EXAMPLE:
Your weekly benefit amount is $200 (25 percent = $50).
If you earned:
$50 or less, your UI benefit amount for that week is not affected (you receive the full amount).
$51, your UI benefit amount for that week is $199.
$200 or more, UI benefits for that week are not paid.

In case you need to see the actual law, it can be found in Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) section 8-73-102(4). It's also repeated in 8-73-103(1).

You can find more information in the Claimants Handbook and online. Here is a link to a pdf version of the book or visit http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDLE-Main/CDLE/1248095317231 and then click on "publications" and select "worker publications" and the publication to choose is Unemployment Insurance Handbook for Claimants.

(KUSA-TV © 2010 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos