Know an amazing Colorado female athlete or contributor to female athletics?

8:43 PM, Dec 7, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

KUSA - Sportswomen of Colorado will be accepting nominations until Dec. 17 for its annual Sportswomen of Colorado awards honoring female athletes and individuals who have contributed to girls' and women's athletics in Colorado.

Award winners will be honored at the 40th Annual Sportswomen of Colorado banquet to be held March 9. A 2013 Sportswoman of the Year will be selected from the nominees and announced at the banquet that draws hundreds of attendees every year.

Nominations forms are available online at or by calling 303-331-0376. Nominations are accepted for individual athletes, teams, coaches, mentors and persons demonstrating exceptional courage, leadership or inspiration during the 2013 calendar year. Previous award winners are eligible for continued recognition. Three-time winners are inducted to the Colorado Sportswomen Hall of Fame.

Past winners of the Sportswoman of the Year include Missy Franklin, Ceal Barry, Dorothy Hamill, Connie Carpenter Phinney, Amy Van Dyken and Jenny Barringer.

Proceeds from the banquet are used to help promote girls' athletics across Colorado with a majority of the funds used to provide summer sports camp scholarships for economically disadvantaged girls ages 9 - 13.

For more information, visit or contact Joan Birkland, Sportswomen of Colorado, 100 S. Madison St. Suite 3B, Denver, CO 80209-3018.

(KUSA-TV © 2013 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos